Blog Tour: The Binding Song - An Eerie Thriller

Friday, March 02, 2018
I have been reading so much this year already and one of the quickest books has to be The Binding Song which I was very kindly sent by Mulholland Books which is an imprint of Hodder and Stoughton. Today's post is another book blog tour so I'm reviewing The Binding Song along with a group of other fantastic book bloggers.

*The Binding Song by Elodie Harper (304 pages - available now) ★★★
The hardback, which has an amazingly creepy cover, has been available for a while but it is now out in paperback form. It's categorised on Amazon as a horror ghost story and it is to an extent but I'd categorise it more as a creepy thriller. The book is fairly short at just over 300 pages and is claimed to be perfect for fans of Mo Hayder and Sharon Bolton, both of which I've never read.

We follow Dr Janet Palmer as she starts a new job as the psychologist at HMP Halvergate, a prison with a questionable past, disturbed inmates and secrets that are being hidden by the staff. The premise sounded fantastic, eerie and like a quick, page turning thriller with creepy horror elements which is something I haven't read for a while.

The book, for me personally, started off a little slow but thankfully it definitely picked up the pace as we find out about the prison, it's inmates and Dr Palmers past. The writing was quick, easy and the mystery was definitely compelling, if more than a little unbelievable at times. I liked the setting as it added an element of eerie suspense, claustrophobia and sinister tension to the story.

I liked the mystery and the secrets that the prison and it's inmates hold - that element of the book definitely carried me through but I found the ending a touch predictable and not quite as dramatic or shocking as I thought it would be. However, the story overall was entertaining, eerie and page turning with an LGBT character, a compelling mystery and quite a few unlikeable characters. To me, this book felt like a crime drama TV show and it would be fantastic if it was adapted for the screen in some way. I think it will be a hit for so many people especially if you like an eerie, quick thriller!

Will be you picking up this chilling thriller? Are you a fan of thrillers? 

20 comments

  1. I love a good thriller book, this one sounds perfect! I'll check it out. Thank you for sharing 🌸✨

    With love, Alisha Valerie x | www.alishavalerie.com

    ReplyDelete
  2. Glad to hear the book picked up for you as it went along. This sounds like a really interesting book and definitely something I would enjoy reading. I'll put it on my TBR. I love a good thriller.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I just cannot read thrillers of any kind, I have such a terribly live imagination!

    ReplyDelete
  4. I love a thriller, but in my opinion it needs to start off strong. I have a hard time with slow starting thrillers lol great rwview!!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Sounds like an interesting little read and definitely something I'd enjoy.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Oh wow that sounds so good! I need to get back into reading over the summer!

    Erin || MakeErinOver

    ReplyDelete
  7. I’m adding this to my list, I love a good mystery especially a crime one x

    ReplyDelete
  8. I agree with most of what you said about this book. It did feel quite claustrophobic and I also felt it was a bit slow as well. Would make an excellent film / TV show.

    Jenny
    http://www.jennyinneverland.com

    ReplyDelete
  9. You are the actual reason my to-read list gets longer!! x

    ReplyDelete
  10. Oooh this sounds good! My favourite genre of book. This one will be going on my list! x

    ReplyDelete
  11. I haven't read a thriller book in such a long time but this one does sound great! xx
    www.imjustagirl16.co.uk

    ReplyDelete
  12. I really like the sound of this book x

    ReplyDelete
  13. Ohh this sounds very interesting! Love your book reviews!
    Chantelle x
    The Girl In The Tartan Scarf

    ReplyDelete
  14. Ooh this sounds like an interesting read!!xo

    Char | www.charslittleblog.co.uk

    ReplyDelete
  15. I haven't heard of this Author before, but the book sounds interesting!

    ReplyDelete
  16. I'm not a fan of thrillers, I get really scared in real life haha x

    Joyce Lau

    ReplyDelete
  17. I love a good thriller and I’d not heard of this one - adding to my list x

    ReplyDelete
  18. the length definitely sits well with me as I need to get back into reading

    ReplyDelete
  19. Oooh this sounds like a fab thriller!

    ReplyDelete
  20. Ooh this sounds great. It makes me want to read more.

    http://littlemissmelanie.com

    ReplyDelete

Feel free to leave me a comment, I read all of them!

If you would like to contact me with a question or PR information email me at: heathernixon4@gmail.com